Preservation: The Art and Science of Canning, Fermentation and Dehydration

$37.50

More than a cookbook, Preservation: The Art and Science of Canning, Fermentation and Dehydration demystifies the scientific concepts that inform the methods of food preservation in an easy to understand way. Taking Julia Child as her inspiration, certified Master Food Preserver Christina Ward has collected and translated both the scientific and experiential information that has long been the sole domain of academic scientists and elite chefs.

Fueled by her mission to correct online misinformation and scientifically outdated materials, Ward guides readers through a comprehensive survey of the methods that will ensure your preservation projects are safe and delicious. Included are highly adaptable recipes that demonstrate every method and technique of preservation.

Foreward by Nancy Singleton Hachisu, an expert in Japanese food traditions. Her second book, Preserving the Japanese Way, was nominated for the 2016 James Beard Award in the International Cookbook category. For fans of Alton Brown, Kenji Alt-Lopez, and Harold McGee, Preservation: The Art and Science of Canning, Fermentation and Dehydration is the guide you never knew you needed. You'll never look at a jar of strawberry jam the same way.

Chapters include information on freezing, pressure canning, hot-water bath and atmospheric canning, dehydration, fermentation, smoking, and curing. Also included are a detailed source guide and recommendations.

Christina Ward teaches notoriously raucous preservation classes and serves as a volunteer mentor to urban farmers, small-scale food producers, and question answerer for people all over the country trying to save their pickles from disaster. Her love of teaching is evident on every page as complicated scientific concepts are simplified and explained with precision and humor.

About the Author

Christina Ward is a food historian and writer. She was recently featured in Padma Lakshmi's new television series exploring immigrant foodways, Taste the Nation." Her second book released in January of 2019, American Advertising Cookbooks-How Corporations Taught Us To Love, Spam, Bananas, and Jell-O earned positive notice from Florence Fabricant in the New York Times, Christopher Kimball of Milk Street Radio, and numerous other journalists and readers. Her 2017 publication, Preservation-The Art and Science of Canning, Fermentation, and Dehydration, explores the history and science of food preservation while sharing 100 fool-proof recipes that make the science real. She has contributed to Serious Eats, Edible Milwaukee, The Wall Street Journal, and The Milwaukee Journal/Sentinel. Christina, despite klutziness, is often found in classrooms and community kitchens with sharp knives and spilling vinegar into unsuspecting handbags while wildly gesticulating as she teaches folks how to make perfect pickles. She makes regular guest food expert on Fox6 News Real Milwaukee television program and on public radio stations across the United States. Christina can trace her Milwaukee and Wisconsin roots to the early 1800s. Her love of history comes from her father, who instilled the idea that we are all manifestations of our ancestors. She prides herself on having a hungry mind interested in learning about people, the foods they eat, and the stories that arise from that convergence."

 

Success! Feel free to continue shopping or head to your cart .